Sikh History

The Five ‘Ks’ – Paanj Kakaar

By  | 

        The Five K’s – Paanj Kakaar

There are Five Religious Signs that are the mark of a devout sikh. The names of all five begin with the letter ‘K’ which is why they are often referred to as the five ‘Ks’.

Kesh – Sikhs believe that the course of nature should not be disturbed as far as possible which is why they refrain from cutting their hair. Keeping long hair is the acceptance of God.

Kirpan – This reminds sikhs that they must be ready to resist bad things, and to fight against evil and Injustice.

Kanga – This is to remind sikhs that they should be clean, neat and tidy.

Kara – This is regarded as a symbol of strength. This is worn by sikhs to remind them that God has no begining and no end.

Kachera – It is to represent modesty and fidelity. Sikhs wear these to distinguish them from other groups of people.


Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa !
Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh !!







I am Jaspreet Singh. I am Master's student at Dalhousie University - Halifax (Canada).


  1. Amandeep Singh

    June 22, 2017 at 1:23 am

    Well explained. Keep it up… ☝

    • Jaspreet singh

      June 24, 2017 at 3:10 pm


  2. Karamjeet kaur

    June 22, 2017 at 2:07 am

    Keep it up jaspreet 🙂

  3. Karamjeet kaur

    June 22, 2017 at 2:08 am

    Good going jaspreet 🙂

    • Jaspreet singh

      June 24, 2017 at 3:12 pm

      Thnx 🙂

  4. Sachpreet kaur

    June 22, 2017 at 5:54 am

    Groovy. Keep it up jass☺

    • Jaspreet singh

      June 24, 2017 at 3:11 pm

      Thnx sach 🙂

  5. Sandeep Kaur

    June 24, 2017 at 6:23 am

    Well written..

    • Jaspreet singh

      June 24, 2017 at 3:11 pm

      Thnx 🙂

  6. krishanpal

    June 30, 2017 at 1:48 am

    Gud bro

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *